header bg

Start your 2021 Arizona CDL practice test now!

Arizona CDL Practice Test

2021 Arizona CDL practice test

FREE Arizona CDL practice test 2021 based on the Arizona CDL manual will help you easily pass your CDL exam. Driving from Joshua Tree to Saguaro and back again is a typical day for commercial drivers in Arizona. So don’t let the CDL test throw you into a deep canyon. Take a look at all AZ CDL practice tests we have that make sure you’ll put into a position of success. Our CDL practice test Arizona acts like the real thing you will face including written exams and any endorsement such as tankers, double/triple, passenger and school buses, hazardous materials, air brake restriction removal. After laying down your hard-earned money about $ 25 for a written exam and $ 12.5 -$25 for each endorsement depending on the class of vehicle, be ready for the test by taking the FREE AZ CDL permit practice test.

Arizona CDL FAQs

What is a commercial driver's license in Arizona?

A commercial driver’s license (CDL) replaces your standard driver’s license and permits you to drive a commercial motor vehicle (CMV). You will need to meet certain criteria in order to earn your license. These contain some requirements that are standardized across states and others that are specific for getting an Arizona CDL.

Arizona CDL Requirements

In order to get your CDL after earning your CLP, you must:

  • You must be at least 18 years old to hold an Arizona CDL and drive a commercial vehicle within the state of Arizona.
  • You must be at least age 21 to drive a commercial motor vehicle across Arizona state lines, carry hazardous materials, or transport any passengers.
  • You must not have more than one driver’s license, and your driving privileges must not be suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified in Arizona or any other state.
  • You must meet the medical requirements of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations.
  • You must pass a set of written exams to obtain your Arizona Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP). You can study for these exams using our High Road CDL Training Program.
  • You must prove citizenship in the state of Arizona and have permission to work in the United States, showing legitimate personal identification which may include a Social Security Card, a Birth Certificate, or a Green Card
  • You must certify that you are not subject to any of the CDL disqualifications for drivers (listed below)
  • You must be able to speak and read the English language

How much does it cost to get a CDL in Arizona?

The Arizona CDL license cost varies between classes: if you're applying for class A or B, $25.00 is your license fee. For class C, the license fee is $12.50, but only with a suitable passenger or hazmat endorsement.

What requires a CDL in Arizona?

Class A is required to operate any combination of vehicles with a gross combined weight of 26,001 pounds or more, with trailer(s) weighing 10,000 pounds or more.

Class B is required to operate any single vehicle having a gross weight of 26,001 pounds or more, or any such vehicle towing another weighing 10,000 pounds or less.

Class C is required to operate any vehicle or combination of vehicles not meeting the definition of Class A or Class B, designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or any vehicle required by federal regulations to be placarded to carry hazardous material:

Many states issue a "Class D" license, which is not part of the FMCSA standards. Some use it to classify regular, passenger car drivers licenses, while some use it to classify specific weights or types of vehicles. This varies from state to state.

How long does it take to get a CDL in AZ?

Before passing the Arizona CDL test, drivers should expect to take 30 to 80 hours in the classroom. Most people can complete this course just in three to five weeks, depending on whether you select a full-time or part-time program.

How many questions are on the Arizona CDL test?

In Arizona, the driver has to complete 50 multiple-choice questions. You have to answer at least 40 questions (80%) in order to get the license. The test is designed to cover topics such as shifting techniques, railroad crossing safety, drunk driving laws, and much more so that you can become a safer driver and pass your CDL exam. Each question is based on those found in the Arizona Commercial Driver License Manual.

Where can I get an Arizona driver's license?

Academy of Driving Motor Vehicle Center. Address at 4733 E. Broadway Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85711. Tel:520.750.7572

Arizona Auto License. Address at 1337 W. Prince Road Tucson, AZ 85711. Tel: 520.696.2023

Arizona Auto License Services LLC. Address at 1902 W. Bell Rd. Phoenix, AZ 85023. Tel: 602.548.8990

How do I transfer my out-of-state license to Arizona?

  • Got a Valid Out-of-State Driver's License
  • You can apply at your local MVD office or authorized third-party driver license provider.
  • After that, you have to complete  the application form 
  • You must provide the required documentation  
  • Turn in your out-of-state driver’s license.
  • You must pass the vision test
  • After that paying the licensing fee 
  • And finally, get your temporary card.

How much does it cost to renew your CDL in Arizona?

The fees that renew for an Arizona commercial driver's license are $15 for Class A or Class B. $10 for Class C. And  $10 for hazmat Endorsement.

Can I renew my Arizona driver's license online?

In most situations, if your Arizona Driver License is due for renewal, you can renew online. You have to sign in to your account at AZMVDNow.gov and access “Renew Now” in the My Credential box and follow the instructions to renew your Arizona driver’s license online.

How long is an Arizona license good for?

Licenses in Arizona expire on the 65th birthday, and until then drivers only need new photos every 12 years - making Arizona unique in how long a license can last. Starting at 65, drivers must renew every five years, with a vision test each time.

What are the Fees for Getting an Arizona CDL?

For New or Transfer from Another State:

  • $25 for Class A or B
  • $12.50 for Class C (must contain a P endorsement or HME)
  • In addition, $10 for each endorsement you require (hazmat, tanker, doubles/triples, or passenger). A motorcycle endorsement is $7. Duplicate $12.

Besides, For Renewal

  • $15 for Class A or B
  • $10 for Class C
  • $10 for HME (knowledge test required)

For Required Road/Skills Tests

  • $25 for Class A or B vehicle
  • $12.50 for a Class C vehicle
  • $5 for Passenger or school bus endorsement (when adding to an existing CDL)

Who Is Required To Hold An Arizona CDL?

You are required to hold an Arizona CDL if you will need a CDL to operate any of the following vehicles:

  • A single-vehicle with a GVWR over 26,000 lbs.
  • A combination vehicle with a GVWR over 26,000 lbs, towing a unit over 10,000 lbs GVWR.
  • A passenger vehicle designed to carry 16 or more people, containing the driver.
  • Any size vehicle that requires hazardous material (Hazmat) placards, or carrying a select agent or toxin.
See more
cta background
Download the app and start
studying for free today
Download on your mobile device Download mobile app expand_more expand_less
arrow_upward