Free CALIFORNIA CDL Practice Test

All-in-one platform with everything you need to ace the CDL on your first attempt
Clear and throughout learning path
Step 1
diagnostic test
Step 2
learning
Step 3
full test
Pass
Start now!

Switch seamlessly between all your devices

What is California CDL?

A commercial driver’s license (CDL) is a license issued in accordance with Federal Regulations that permit an individual to operate a commercial motor vehicle (CMV). Federal regulations require all applicants 18 years or older to apply for a CDL to drive within California.

How much does it cost to get your CDL in California?

You have to earn your commercial driver's license (CDL) from the DMV of California before you can get a job working as a truck driver. Prior to earning your license, you must pass a written test. The application fee for this is $68 for Class A and Class B or $39 for Class C. 

How long does it take to get a CDL in California?

Normally, it takes about seven weeks to get your CDL (commercial driver's license) when attending a full-time driver training program but it will take a long time if you just attend a part-time course.

How many questions are on the CDL permit test in California?

In California, the driver has to complete 50 multiple-choice questions. To get the license, you must correctly answer at least 40 questions (80%). Your knowledge of traffic signs, signals, right-of-way rules, trucking laws, speed limits, vehicle inspection, and basic commercial vehicle safety will be tested to help you become a safer driver.

What Class of Vehicles Does the California CDL Program Pertain To?

California recognizes the following federal classes:

  • Class A: Allows you to drive any combination of vehicles that have a GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating) of 26,001 pounds or more.
  • Class B: Enables you to drive a single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more, or any vehicle towing another that does not exceed the 10,000-pound GVWR limit.
  • Class C: Allows you to operate a vehicle that has hazardous materials. With an endorsement, you can drive a 16-passenger vehicle, which includes the driver.

How to Apply for a California Commercial Driver License

A commercial driver's license (CDL) is a license issued in accordance with Federal Regulations that permit an individual to operate a commercial motor vehicle (CMV). Federal regulations require that all applicants be:

  • 18 years or older to apply for a CDL to drive within California
  • 21 years or older to apply for a CDL to drive outside California
  • Issued a Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP)

Besides,  applicants also need to:

  • Hold a CLP for a minimum of 14 days. The 14-day waiting period applies to classification upgrades and endorsement/restriction changes that require a skills test.
  • Call 1-800-777-0133 or make an appointment online for a commercial skills test.
  • Bring the type of vehicle(s) for the class you want to drive.
  • Pass the skills test (vehicle inspection, basic control skills, and the road test). If you fail any segment of the skills test, all other tests will be postponed and it will count as one failure towards the maximum three attempts you are allowed. A retest fee of $35 is due upon your return to take the subsequent test(s).

California CDL practice test 2024

Our FREE California CDL practice test 2024 is based on the California CDL handbook to collect the best list of CA CDL simulator questions. If you are planning to do like haul movie sets to Anaheim, you’ll need a California commercial driver’s license (CDL). Prior to heading over to the DMV, make sure you are aware of what you need. We’ve collected the California CDL practice test covering content for the 70 questions class A exam and CA CDL practice tests for additional endorsements like passenger and school buses, double/triple, tanker, hazardous, or air brake. These are all geared to look and give a taste of real things so there are no surprises once you sit in the DMV testing room. We always provide free California CDL practice tests for you, don’t hesitate to take them now!

Why Should You Practice for the CDL Test in California?

It's challenging to pass the commercial driving exam in California. Three areas of your knowledge—general information, combination vehicles, and air brakes—will be tested.

Reviewing and memorization of crucial information will require time and effort because the California CDL Handbook is more than 200 pages long.

You have one hour to finish the 50-question CDL general knowledge test. To pass, you must receive at least 40 right answers or 80 percent.

You'll need to practice in addition to having knowledge and having a laser-like focus. It's essential to take sufficient California CDL practice tests. CDL Prep can assist you in gaining the self-assurance you'll need to ace the test.

How Can CDL Prep Assist You in Passing the CDL Test in California?

Follow these steps to pass the CDL test in California:

  • Use any web browser to visit CDL Prep for California.
  • Select the test you want to take and decide whether to prepare in learn mode or take a full practice exam.
  • With learn mode, you can practice part by part. If you incorrectly answer a question, it will be repeated later. You will move to the next part if only you answer all questions correctly in the previous part. This allows you better remember the issue.
  • With the test mode, you can familiarize yourself with the real-test format.

You might add a HAZMAT endorsement to your CDL when you start operating a commercial vehicle. You can haul hazardous chemicals and substances and increase your income if you add a

HAZMAT endorsement to your California commercial driver's license.

The basic requirements for getting your CDL in California

To get a CDL License, applicants have to meet the following criteria:

  • All applicants must be at least 18 years old to hold a California CDL and drive a commercial vehicle within the state of California.
  • The applicants must be at least age 21 to drive a commercial motor vehicle across California state lines, carry hazardous materials, or transport any passengers.
  • The applicants must not have more than one driver’s license, and their driving privileges must not be suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified in California or any other state.
  • The applicants must meet the medical requirements of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations.
  • The applicants must pass a set of written exams to obtain your California Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP). You can study for these exams using our High Road CDL Training Program.
  • The applicants must prove citizenship in the state of California and have permission to work in the United States, showing legitimate personal identification which may include a Social Security Card, a Birth Certificate, or a Green Card
  • The applicants must certify that they are not subject to any of the CDL disqualifications for drivers (listed below)
  • The applicants must be able to speak and read the English language

Can I transfer my CDL to California?

Yes, you must follow residency requirements to transfer your CDL to California:

  • Age Requirement ( an applicant must be at least 18 years old)
  • CDL Application (you must submit a completed and signed CDL application to a local DMV office, and pay the appropriate fees) 
  • Background Check (because their current CDL license was issued from another state, you must undergo a background check of his driving record)
  • Medical Examination (you must submit a medical examination form that certifies he meets the medical standards required to drive a commercial vehicle)
  • Required Tests (you must pass a vision test, which is given at the DMV office, and also pass a written examination about California traffic laws and signs, and performance tests that demonstrate knowledge and skills to operate a commercial motor vehicle)
  • Requirement for Hazardous Materials Endorsement (any commercial driver seeking a hazardous materials endorsement with his CDL must undergo a security threat assessment by the U.S.)

How do I renew my CA CDL license?

The Department of Motor Vehicles reports that those who need to renew their California commercial driver's license can now do it online. Eligible commercial drivers can upload the relevant paperwork, pay the required price, and get their new card within a few weeks using a new online service.

If you qualify and wish to renew by Internet, go to www.dmv.ca.gov.

Click on the Online Services (tab) and then choose Driver License Renewal and complete the instructions to renew your driver's license online.

Fill out the Driver's License and ID Card Application.

  • Note the confirmation code that is generated at the conclusion. Later, you will require this.
  • Check to see if the name, birthdate, weight, height, eye color, hair color, and gender match those on your current CDL. Any modifications to these call for a photo and a trip to the DMV.

To use this online application, your driving record must be spotless. The renewal of a CDL with a hazardous materials endorsement is not permitted through the online method. Eligibility may also be impacted by further factors. Payment won't be necessary until eligibility has been established.

Collect the documents and information listed below:

  • Your DL/ID confirmation code for your commercial driver's license application (as mentioned above)
  • Identity proof and residency proof DL 10Y (if applicable)
  • MCSE Exams 5875 & 5876 (if applicable)

Note: You cannot use this application if your commercial driver's license is presently suspended or has been canceled. If your CDL was lost, you can get a replacement.

Can I renew my California driver's license by mail?

If you currently have a California driver's license, you can renew it online, by mail, or in person at a DMV location. Driving while ineligible for a license is prohibited and is punishable by a citation.

CDL and DOT Medical Card Requirements in California

According to Californian law, all CDL drivers must satisfy the requirements for federal motor carrier qualification as forth in 49 CFR part 391 and possess a current DOT medical card.

  • Non-Excepted Interstate: The Federal DOT medical certificate standards must be met.
  • Non-Excepted Intrastate: The Federal DOT medical certificate standards must be met.

There are no state-level deviations or exclusions from the national physical standards in California. If the medical test is unsuccessful, a commercial driver may be eligible for a California intrastate restricted medical certificate (DL 51B). To be eligible for an intrastate restricted medical certificate, these drivers must submit an MER to the DMV proving they failed the medical test.

  • Excepted: A commercial driver's license that is "Exempt" from the standards for qualified drivers is not available in California.