header bg

Start your 2021 kentucky CDL practice test now!

Kentucky CDL Practice Test

2021 Kentucky CDL practice test

Our FREE Kentucky driver practice test based on the KY CDL manual will help you easily pass your CDL exam. The Bluegrass State is an immense place to take to the roads on a mission. Start making a career of hauling aerospace parts or delivering groceries by obtaining your Kentucky CDL (commercial driver’s license). We have anything you need before your exam comes. We provide information on how to make the most of the $50 written testing fee and exam prep. Our Kentucky CDL practice test has questions based on the Official KY CDL manual, many of which are exactly what you’ll experience on the day of your exam. The 70 questions Class A, 50 questions B or C, and shorter endorsement like passenger and school buses, double/triple, tankers, hazardous materials, or air brake removal skills are all covered. Taking Kentucky CDL practice tests now!

Do I need a CDL in Kentucky?

Who Is Required To Hold A Kentucky CDL? You will need a CDL to operate any of the following vehicles: A single vehicle with a GVWR over 26,000 lbs. A combination vehicle with a GVWR over 26,000 lbs, towing a unit over 10,000 lbs GVWR.

How much does it cost to get a CDL in Kentucky?

Kentucky CDL license cost runs $25. Once an applicant makes it through the application process, the Circuit Court Clerk's office issues a CDL instruction permit that's valid for six months. A CDL instruction permit costs $11.00

How much does it cost to renew CDL in KY?

Once you receive your renewal notice in the mail, simply head to your county's Circuit Court Clerk's office with your DOT Medical Certificate (Form 649-F) and the renewal fee of $47. Renewal must be done in person, and you will need to show identification.

Who issues a driver's license in Kentucky?

The Circuit Clerk's office

Once you have met all the requirements, the Circuit Clerk's office will issue you a license. Your new Kentucky driver's license will be valid for 4 years. Starting from 2019 new REAL ID cards will be valid for 8 years.

Can I renew my CDL license online in KY?

Drivers can now do the following at My CDL: Complete the CDL application and self-certification online. Upload medical certificates and waivers electronically.

You can now renew Kentucky driver's licenses online.  The new online renewals work for "standard" licenses as well as Real IDs, but you'll still need to visit an office in person to make the switch to a Real ID.

Can you take your permit test online in Kentucky?

Online driving manuals are available on the Kentucky State Police site. When you turn 16 ½ and have had your learner's permit for at least 180 days, you can go to your local Driver Testing Center to take the driving test.

How long can your driver's license be expired in KY?

Age 21 and over may renew a valid Driver's License up to six months before the expiration date. If the license is expired for more than one (1) year, a vision and written test will be required. If the license is expired for more than five (5) years driver will be required to start over as a new driver.

What happens if you let your driver's license expire in Kentucky?

By law, if you allow your license to expire while on active duty away from your home state of Kentucky, you will be given ninety (90) days (from return date) to renew your driver’s license. However, if you do not renew your license in these 90 days, you will need to renew as all other drivers with expired licenses.

What Documents Should You Bring?

Here is a checklist of documents you must bring on the day of your Kentucky road test, otherwise you will not be allowed to take it:

  • Your social security card.
  • Your birth certificate.
  • No Pass/No Drive form.
  • Your valid Kentucky learner’s permit. 
  • Proof of registration and insurance for your vehicle (more on this below).
  • Drivers under the age of 18 will also need:
  • Completed school compliance verification form.
  • A parent or guardian to sign your application and accompany you to the driver’s licensing office. 

What if You Fail the Test?

To pass the road test in Kentucky, you’ll need to get a score of at least 80%. Small errors will cause you to lose points, so making too many small mistakes may result in a road test failure. Additionally, you could automatically fail if you:

  • Are involved in an accident.
  • Violate a traffic law.
  • Commit any dangerous act.
  • Twice ignore your examiner’s instructions. 

If you fail the road test, you’ll have to wait a week before you’ll be allowed to take it again. Use that time to study using the Driver’s Manual and to practice driving.

See more
cta background
Download the app and start
studying for free today
Download on your mobile device Download mobile app expand_more expand_less
arrow_upward